Painful Honesty

[From “Joe” to me]

hi

Hey, I’m pretty new to this internet dating thing, so please bear with me if I say something stupid. I do that pretty often. I make up for it by being a slightly above average player in kickball. Seriously, I was in a league.

I’m not sure what these initial emails are supposed to say, so I’ll just tell you a little about myself;

Generally, I’m pretty laid back and I really like to do/ try new things. I’m trying to make the most out of the summer- I’m trying new restaurants and bars, trying to travel more, golf, I started boxing again, I want to learn to cook, go fishing and eat crabs in Maryland, go to Lobsterfest in Maine, watch shows on my DVR list, and I’m running my first half marathon in September. If I accomplish 1/2 of my list, I’ll be happy.

In the past couple of years, I’ve switched careers from finance to law enforcement. I love it.

Enough about me. Hope to hear back from you.

-Joe

***********
[My response to Joe]

Hi Joe,

First, I would like to say I’m truly happy for you that you’ve switched to a career you love. It’s so important, as we spend the majority of our lives working (but it shouldn’t feel that way if you’re doing what you were meant to do).

That said, I’m afraid I have to say I am not interested. I can never, and will never, be with a man in law enforcement. Please don’t think that I don’t respect the profession, as that couldn’t be further from the truth.

My father has been in law enforcement his whole life (currently in Kabul, Afghanistan), and it has scarred me deeply. I’ve known for a long time now that I could never be with someone in this profession. It’s just too difficult and scary for me.

I’m  sorry.

I wish you the best of luck in your search.

Sincerely,
Ashley


Leave a Reply

