Poor Carrie

When family and friends ask me about New York City, what it’s like to live here and if I’m happy, I have nothing but wonderful things to say. It’s so BUSY, it’s so ALIVE, there’s so many people. It’s like a buffet of different cultures and ethnicities. And EVERYONE is a little bit crazy, and that’s ok. Most likely, that’s why we moved here — because we couldn’t be ourselves wherever we were, and so we came to the city to find ourselves. And most people are a little crazy.

I love my job, I love the area that I live in, and yes, I even love my little piece of shit apartment that on a GOOD week has hot water four days in a row. The only thing, the ONLY thing that has ever kept this place from being perfect in my eyes is the dating scene. It’s impossible. Too many people, too many crazy, jobless, scumbag stalkers. And, I work so many hours,  that any precious time wasted on someone whom I find out later to be a crazy jobless scumbag physically hurts me. It PHYSICALLY pains my heart to waste time on people because my time is so scarce and thus so precious to me.

Enter Match.com.
That’s right people. I said it. Go ahead and mock me. It’s ok, because I mocked it for the last YEAR that my sisters and close friends have been telling me to try it. Online dating has such a stigma attached to it, and I guess I can understand why. Years ago, before the huge social networking boom, online dating was sketchy. Only internet pervs hung out online looking for dates. And people who were too socially awkward to meet anyone elsewhere.

I’ve FOUND where the TALENT in NYC HIDES people. It’s ridiculous.

Now, before you go sign up, I must admit that it’s not cheap. I paid about $140 for a 6 month membership. So…ya. Hoping I’ll get that money back in the form of dinners and drinks. And, you have to be prepared to answer A LOT of questions, and intimate ones. It’s best to be honest, otherwise you’re wasting both your time and money.
I have my first date, with a nice Doctor gentleman, on Wed. And I may or may not be meeting someone else tonight for coffee. I don’t know, I don’t know if there’s enough time! HA

For some reason, I keep thinking of that dumb broad Carrie from Sex and the City. If only Match.com had come to power back in the 90’s, she wouldn’t have been all hung up on that Big *ssh*le (that’s what she said).

Sigh. This is awesome. I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

