About Spain

“Un mysterio de Espana” : (translation) A mystery of Spain

This seems to be the answer for everything over there. Everything. For example: why does the Spanish population generally live longer, healthier lives than Americans when:

*they smoke: before, during, and after their pregnancies. I saw babies in strollers in bars. Everywhere. All the time.

*they live on a diet consisting of sangria, potatoes, sausage, ham, meatballs, sausage, chorizo (another kind of sausage), fried cheese, the occasional fried vegetable, and did I mention sausage?

*they drink every day, and all night.

*Gyms are completely absent. I don’t even know if there is a word for “gym” in Spanish…at least not the gyms I’m thinking (Crunch, Bally’s, Equinox, etc).

I asked my sister this question. My sister who has been living and studying in Madrid for the last 4 months…

Don’t get me wrong. I embraced the diet. For a whole week.

I LIVED ON SPANISH SAUSAGE FOR A WEEK.

(That’s what she said)

I’ve never felt so tired and unhealthy in my life…as a matter of fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve shortened my life span by 3-5 years.

Let’s just say, the sausage diet got real old, real fast (that’s also what she said). Now, back in Manhattan, I’m typing this while ecstatically sipping on my fresh-pressed beverage of celery, spinach, kale, and beet juice. For lunch, I had quinoa, brussel sprouts, broccoli, sweet potatoes, and baked chicken.

I’ve just started to return to normalcy….

2 Responses to “About Spain”

  1. AKA Posh Says:

    LOL!! Love the post.
    My theory = Spaniards healthy stress levels – unhealthy nutrition > Americans healthy nutrition – unhealthy stress levels

    Point = I’ll take Spanish sausage over American power any day (that’s what she said!).

  2. Yoursecretfantasticlover Says:

    So, you went to Spain?!? Just know that for your next trip, the Philippines is calling your name. Very Loudly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

