The Turtle Queen

CHINATOWN 1/23/10

My sister Lindsey took the Fung Wah (scary) from Boston to come see me this weekend! It’s a relatively warm Saturday in Manhattan, and after having a delicious brunch at Pasti’s and walk on the High Line, I ask her:

“So, what do you want to do now, Brain?”

“You know what I want more than anything Ash? Louis Vuitton…fake Louis Vuitton”.

30 minutes later we find ourselves on Canal Street.

“Now what???” she asks me.

I shrug my shoulders and tell her I’m not sure–it’s not everyday I go shopping for fake designer handbags. We couldn’t have been standing on the sidewalk for more than 2 minutes before a woman approaches and says:

“handbags?”

SICK.

So we follow her a few blocks, she shows us some pictures, my sister points to the one she wants and then BAM! Little sis has a fake designer Louis Vuitton bag complete with a matching wallet, almost as fast as if Hermione Granger herself had conjured one out of thin air.

“So,what do you want to do now Brain?” she ask me.

After careful consideration, I answered: “You know what I want more than anything Lin? Turtles. Baby turtles”

Following the same formula as before, we meandered for about five minutes until another woman approached: “Gucci? Prada?”

“Turtles?” I reply.

“Ah, yes. Turtles” as she motions for us to follow…

Enter Don Quixote and Sancho Panza (pictured above). After a quick internet search and a trip to Petco, Don Quixote and his faithful squire Sancho Panza are chillin in their fresh new digs. Don Quixote seems to be a bit of a bully, often using Sancho’s head as a step in his prison break from Azkaban.

Our relationship is tenuous still, though they seem to be coming around…

Overall I would have to say this was an A+ weekend. Family time is always special, and both of us were able to find what it was our hearts most desired 🙂 God bless Chinatown.

Updates on Don and Sancho to follow…

One Response to “The Turtle Queen”

  1. Christopher Says:

    You guys make me laugh….. “God bless Chinatown! LOL! Word! BTW, love the turtle’s names.

Leave a Reply

